Welcome to the Putnam County Historical Society

The society preserves Putnam County’s past, shares our stories and connects people with history in meaningful ways, for today and for tomorrow.


Museum Hours:

Pulsifer House
Wednesdays and Fridays: 10 am – 3 pm

Agriculture and Historical Museum
1st Saturday of each month: 9 am – 1 pm

Both museums are closed Dec. 15 – March 15

Putnam County Historical Society Pulsifer House


The Putnam Country Historical Society is supported through General Fund donations which are used to cover day-to-day operations.

View Membership Information

Digital Media

View our library of Putnam County Newspapers to get historical media from various news organizations in our communities.

View Digital Media


The society has many resources for anyone needing assistance with genealogy, etc. Research will be provided for the following charges:

Members – $7/hr.
Non Members – $10/hr.

Find Out More

Miner & Pioneer Certificates

The Putnam County Historical Society will issue Certificates for Miners and Pioneers who came to Putnam County, Illinois.

The information received will be kept at the Putnam County Historical Society museum.

See Certificate Details Here

The society has many resources for anyone needing assistance with genealogy, etc.

Get Involved

The society depends on volunteers to fulfill our mission as we have no paid staff. Volunteer assistance can take many forms. A volunteer helper at Pulsifer House assists a Board Member between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. on either Wednesday or Friday Pulsifer House volunteers may assist the Board Member with cleaning, filing or data entry or with caring for the flowers and plantings that border Pulsifer House.

Other tasks are scheduled as needed, such as the cleaning day before the Ag Museum Open House when several helping hands make the task go quickly.

Many of the items on display were cleaned up or restored by volunteers working at home in their own shop.

If you are interested in helping with any of these tasks, please contact any of the Board members for more information: Sid Whitaker, President; Karen Bailey, Vice-President; Lonna Nauman, Secretary; Will Duke, Treasurer; Gary Boggio, Sue Bruch, Sue Campbell, Ben Day, Dick Ashdown, Darlene Cofoid, Kevin Kunkle, or Teresa Clausen.